What is wrong with the world today?


I opened up my Facebook page this morning and two news stories caught my attention. “4 month old baby raped to death” and “Men accused of sexually abusing cows”. Seriously? Really? What the hell?

I would like to know why, in this country, we make it ok for these freaks to keep doing this. Pedophiles, child molesters, kidnappers, murderers aren’t afraid to do what they do. What happens to them when they get caught? They wait in a cushy jail cell for a year or two while their lawyers try to get them off by pleading insanity. If they actually are convicted most of them live out the rest of their lives with a bed, blankets, three warm meals a day, a free gym membership, healthcare and dental. Hell that’s better than some people live! It’s the most ridiculous thing. If they manage to get the death penalty (which doesn’t happen often enough) then they usually still live out the rest of there lives in better conditions than some people except they are kept away from the general population, so they are safe from any actual punishment. And if they actually get the lethal injection we try to make it as painless as possible. I just don’t get it.

If I were homeless I would just commit a crime. Why not? That’s what our country shows people. What we need to do is stand up and say enough is enough. We need to make punishments actually fit the crime. We need to stop allowing child molesters and rapist plead insanity. I am sure they are all insane. You would have to be to do what they do but I don’t really give a damn. That’s not an excuse. There is no excuse!

We need to stand up for the people who really need support and that is the victims. We concentrate so much on the accused rights, what about the mother who had to bury her son or daughter? What about the woman who will never be the same? What about all the truly innocent people who are affected by these people’s heinous crimes? Maybe someone should start standing up for them.

There are so many things in our society that are so backwards. It makes no sense to me. I really wish we could find people to run this country who were truly looking out for our best interests and not their own. I don’t want to live in a world where you have to be afraid for your children. Not just afraid but terrified. I don’t want to look at the nice man who smiles at my son at the grocery store and wonder if he’s a kidnapper or pedophile. I want to be able to teach my child to be kind to people and not to fear them. Most of all I want to live in a country where the bad guy is afraid to be caught. I want justice.

I read an article in the newspaper this weekend about a murderer who was hanged in the Belleville square, a long time ago, by a mob of people who had decided to take justice in their own hands. The point of the article was how horrible the whole thing was and it was horrible but you know what, I would rather see a hanging than what goes on today. I would rather see punishment. I would like for the bad guys to be afraid. I can’t imagine what will have to happen for things to change. I think the things that have happened are bad enough.

I guess instead we have to concentrate on being proactive and teaching our children to be aware. I don’t want to teach my child to be afraid but I will do everything I can to teach him to be strong enough to run away and scream if he ever feels unsafe. I will also look out for other children. I think us parents need to band together and keep an eye on the kids playing in our neighborhoods and parks. To many times people don’t want to get involved but sometimes getting involved can prevent something terrible from happening. It’s worth going out on a limb to protect our children. We need to look out for each other. Maybe we can make the world a safer place.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

